The worst part…

The worst part of writing is the editing, the re drafting, re working. For months you can merrily write away, enjoying your story and the characters, envisaging people reading it in a few months or years time. Then the editing starts. I have always known my grammar was terrible, but it never stopped me from writing because I knew that if I looked over my work a few times I could fix the bad grammar. (I know my grammar is awful in my posts, for that I apologise.)

Anyway, back to the point, when you edit you realise how bad some of your writing is. I have read a few parts and thought, did I really write that? Then again, sometimes I read my writing and think, did I actually write this? for all the good reasons. Sometimes I think it doesn’t actually sound like I have written it. That is only occasionally though.

I recently found a website called autocrit.com…It’s a really handy site for when you are in that editing stage, between smacking your head on the desk and tearing the pages to pieces and throwing them in the bin. You put a section of your work into a box, ask it to analyze your text and it tells you how many words you have repeated and how many of each word you need to delete. It highlights them in red. From using it for an hour or so last night my work has already improved so much! (I repeat words constantly!) It really is worth a try! The only downside is, people using it for free can only put 1500 words in each 24 hours. If you want to put more in and unlock more helpful tips you have to pay. Of course if you live in a house with lots of different computers it is great! I could use my dads work computer and be able to sift through 3000 words each 24 hours.

So I hope that helps you folks out there, if you find editing as stressful as I do then give it a try. It certainly made my writing a lot better!

About lilyluna93

I am from Hertfordshire, England. I enjoy reading, writing, singing and acting and aspire to have my book published in the near future. Have a look at my blogs, you'll find some of my writing and my journeys. Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

