Acting

I have always loved acting, I took part in an amateur dramatics group for ten years playing various background and main roles. In school I also gained a GCSE and A Level in Drama. I always thought that English, Drama and History would go well together, but only now have I realised just how much it helped me and my writing.

Firstly the writing of scripts. I always seemed to be put in a group that was absolutely useless, they didn’t have an idea between them and could string a sentence to save their lives. Although at the time having to write the entire script was stressful and generally led to tears over the short amount of time to write it! Now, the script writing seems to have been a blessing, I have a general idea of what makes drama work and managed to get good marks in drama (so I’m guessing it was at least half decent?). Then again you get no marks on the script, just the acting. So it was probably awful!

It was not only the script writing that was a help. Having the chance to play a variety of roles led to a deeper knowledge of characters. I started to understand characters feelings through having to act them. I played, Jasmine in Aladdin, a brother in Joseph, a talking and singing candlestick! An evil stepmother, a terrorist in the 9/11 bombings (however we changed the viewpoint and made it about Flight 93 rather than The Twin Towers), a sibling from ‘The Endless’ named Delerium and a few others which were background parts. Because I played such a range, from good and kind, to nasty and evil it gave me a diverse viewpoint of the characters I was writing.

So now, if I ever get stuck when writing characters and cant think of how they would word things or do things I imagine how I would act them if I was handed a script with their name highlighted as my part. It may sound mad, but in my head, acting a character can bring it to life as much as writing one on a page! ImageAll the brothers from Jospeh!

About lilyluna93

I am from Hertfordshire, England. I enjoy reading, writing, singing and acting and aspire to have my book published in the near future. Have a look at my blogs, you'll find some of my writing and my journeys. Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Acting

  1. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own weblog and was wondering what all is needed to get setup? I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty
    penny? I’m not very internet savvy so I’m not 100% sure.
    Any recommendations or advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Many thanks

    • lilyluna93 says:

      Hi, no my blog is free. Some word press blogs cost money and you get extras but my blog is just your standard free. It takes a little while to get used to but once you get the hang of it it’s great 🙂 hope that helps 🙂

Leave a Reply

