Method Writing

I was thinking about method acting the other day. For anyone who doesn’t know it is when the actor connects to their role and lives their day to day lives as if they are the character they are playing. This way they become more comfortable with their role and gain a deeper understanding.

I thought, I should try method writing! I don’t know if it’s something that’s been done before. I could wander around for a day pretending to be my character. Although I would almost certainly get some strange looks, wandering down the lane behind my house and dodging in and out of trees whenever I see someone because in my book they would definitely be soldiers. This could gain me a bit of a reputation around my street I think. Unfortunately I couldn’t pass it off with the excuse, ‘Well I am an actooooor, I can get away with any weird stuff.’ No. Perhaps if I was Kiera Knightly that would work, unfortunately I’m just Lily, or perhaps Lunatic Lil?

Well who knows, have any of you out there tried method writing? I might try it one day. One of my friends used to drive me home and he would suddenly shout and pretend he was in a car chase (Completely safe I promise). Perhaps that was his method writing, or he could have been insane, it is plausible.

I’ll let you know if I ever to decide to do some method writing, and let you know how badly it goes! Why don’t you give it a try and let me know?!

Image

About lilyluna93

I am from Hertfordshire, England. I enjoy reading, writing, singing and acting and aspire to have my book published in the near future. Have a look at my blogs, you'll find some of my writing and my journeys. Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Novel writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Method Writing

  1. Ha, my characters are psychopaths mostly so that would be interesting! It’s a great idea though, I think it would help so much in getting into the mind of the character.

    • lilyluna93 says:

      Oh dear! Then I suggest you don’t try method acting! Haha. Although a few of my characters are psychos too so I won’t be trying it with any of those any time soon.

  2. One genre of writing that strikes me as similar to method writing is that weird sort-of hybrid memoir/investigative journalism sort of book. These are the books where the author has decided, very self-consciously, to go out and experience something so she or he can then write about it. I’m thinking of books like Julie and Julia, or the one where some reporter got a job at a butchery, to see what that’s like.

    These books often seem to gravitate towards food and cooking or travel. The very idea of them is annoying to me. I’ve never heard of an author intentionally taking on the persona of their own fictional character…. at least not deliberately! Good luck.

Leave a Reply

