You Write On

Hello fellow writer friends!

I recently stumbled upon a very interesting website which I thought I would bring to your attention. You may have already heard of it, or you may not…so read on!

The website is called youwriteon.com and it is a place where you can upload the first few chapters of your novel and receive critique. However to receive the help you have to read another members work, this is called a reading assignment. When you have read their work you will be awarded a credit which you attach to your chapters and they are sent off to another member! The best part of this is that you are then put into the chart, and each month the members at the top of the chart get a free critique from leading publishers Orion and Random House. It is a place where agents can spot your work and there is a chance of publication!

So I thought I would let you all know. I don’t know if it is just something available in the United Kingdom, but WORTH A TRY!

Some advice if you join! When you request a reading assignment, only do it when you are going to read it straight away. I only have one review and my work has been assigned to someone for days now and I want enough reviews so that my chapters can go into the charts!! So request it and then read it, don’t request it and then leave it for days so that the person waiting is biting their nails wondering what is going on!

Anyway, I would definitely recommend that you have a look into the website and consider putting your work on there. They also ask you to make a reading test, so when the member has read your chapters they have to take a five question test to prove they read it which is good because there are sneaky people out there. Once they finish the test they then rate your characters, plot, pacing etc out of five. Its very helpful!

About lilyluna93

I am from Hertfordshire, England. I enjoy reading, writing, singing and acting and aspire to have my book published in the near future. Have a look at my blogs, you'll find some of my writing and my journeys. Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Novel writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to You Write On

  1. sarahcradit says:

    This is such a great idea!! I have been looking for a good place to get critique on my work (outside of friends and family haha). Thank you for posting this 🙂

    • lilyluna93 says:

      No worries! I know I was doing the same! Unfortunately it’s only the first seven thousand words so I cant upload the rest (unless you can and I still haven’t worked out how!) but it is worth it! And they take short stories too 🙂

  2. Pete Denton says:

    Thanks for the suggestion. I think I’ve heard of this site before. Great advice about reading quickly, There is nothing worse than being left hanging. 🙂

    • lilyluna93 says:

      Its definitely worth a try, especially as its free! I know, I think you have a deadline of four days, but I’ve been waiting a while to be assigned to a member and now they seem to have left it to the last minute!

Leave a Reply

