Names

The hardest part of my book at times definitely seemed to be names. What to name the main characters of my book. I thought for a long time about it and changed them often. The evil characters have to have cruel, sinister names that when heard make the readers stomach flutter. While the heroines have to be named something that will be remembered.

There seems to be a trend nowadays to name characters ridiculous names that aren’t actually names. I don’t particularly care for this trend, I’m not going to name my character a name that sounds more like a disease than an actual human being. Maybe it’s just me, I’m not really a fan. I understand that in some types of fiction strange names fit in with the plot, five hundred years ago people didn’t name their children Princess or star, so in five hundred years time maybe there will be strange names around.

Back to the point, naming a character is definitely a difficult one. I chose normal names for my characters: Olivia, Luke, Jamie, Robin, Kaitlin… I gave them normal names because they were once normal people, they were made abnormal because they were forced into abnormal situations.

Well that’s my rant of the day over! What do you bloggers out there think? Mad names? Or normal names?

About lilyluna93

I am from Hertfordshire, England. I enjoy reading, writing, singing and acting and aspire to have my book published in the near future. Have a look at my blogs, you'll find some of my writing and my journeys. Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Novel writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Names

  1. luanaaraceli says:

    I think it depends on the story you’re writing. In some settings, weird names have the best suit for the story. I try to go for the feel of the story.

    But I have a particular fondness for names that are different, but not abnormal to our society. For example, in one of my most recent stories, the two main characters’ names were Leon and Geoff, respectively. They aren’t abnormal names, but they are unusual.

    • lilyluna93 says:

      Yes! Leon and Geoff aren’t common but they’re different. I like that, it’s when the characters are called a name most people cant even pronounce! I just find that frustrating.

  2. lightningjcb says:

    I usually try to find the meaning of names and see if they fit with my character’s personality. If not, I mess around with a few letters or visit a few name-making sites and see if any tempt me or inspire me of a similar one.

    • lilyluna93 says:

      Ohhh that’s a brilliant idea! Why hadn’t I thought of that!? Thank you very much.

    • lilyluna93 says:

      I just googled the meaning of the names of my three main characters, they were surprisingly spot on for my characters which is a little freaky! Olivia – comes from Olive tree, means peace. Luke – Light and Jamie – supplanter. which could be similar to wrongdoer. So thank you, it has strengthened my belief in my characters names! Thanks again.

      • lightningjcb says:

        Oh wow, spot on? That’s a rare gift! 😀 And if those are the meanings/traits of your characters, I’m excited to read your novel once it’s published! I’m glad I could help 🙂

    • lilyluna93 says:

      Hahaa I must have a sixth sense! 😉 Ohh well keep your fingers crossed for me! the next post is the prologue so take a look and let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

