Gap Year Girl

Well here we are! Welcome to the blog of a gap year girl!

This blog will be all about my gap year and what I do to fill my time! (This mostly involves the book I have written and am currently redrafting!) Also I am sure you have all noticed that it is January! Yes, a little late for the old blog I’m afraid but oh well! I did nothing productive the last six months other than hospital appointments and who wants to know about those! Not I.

The start of my gap year was not the most promising! I was forced to take a gap year due to ill health and had to undergo treatment at hospital. Although the first few months couldn’t even be classed as a gap year it was a blessing in disguise! I have made significant developments on my novel and I’m now getting extremely excited about the prospect of sending my work off to literary agents and seeing if others think its good too. (Pray with me!)

The first few months of writing were very secretive, my parents thought I was being a lazy teenager wasting away my time on Facebook and all the other apparent horrors of social media. Little did they know that sitting on my lap was a story that would end up being 85’000 words, comprising of a novel for young adults about ‘New England’ and two teenagers named Olivia and Luke.

My writing began three years ago, every evening I would tap away and began to see a plot developing and characters forming! I was in school when I began so had little chance to make time for my writing. However, three years on I have dragged my novel up from the dregs of my laptop and decided I could make it work!

I didn’t always know that I wanted to be an author, throughout school I was certain I would be an actress and live the high life with my name in golden lights! I soon realised that not only was this not my dream I didn’t enjoy it as much as I thought. The all important moment came the day I was sitting in my English Literature and Language A Level class and I got excited about the coursework! I WANTED to write. I WANTED to have homework? (As expected my friends and classmates were horrified) Not only did I find this highly bemusing I realised homework could actually be FUN!

This was a brilliant moment, however my English hadn’t always been good (Not that it is incredible now, I am sure I have made countless mistakes that will set your teeth on edge, for that I apologise, now it makes sense why it took so long to write my book. My grammar is awful.) One of the first essays I wrote for a GCSE practice paper was horrific. My English teacher handed me the sheet of paper with a look in her eye that told me I should be ashamed. She had only written four words at the end of my pitiful essay.

THIS IS A DISASTER

So my writing didn’t have a flying start, in fact it had a rather sluggish, spluttering, senile start in which I begrudgingly chose English as an A level because I needed to pick four subjects. I told my mum as I circled ‘ENGLISH LIT LANG’ …

“I can drop it at the end of next year anyway.”

Little did I know that the very lesson I had begun to dread would be the lesson I looked forward to the most. I then realised that perhaps this is what I wanted to do, perhaps I could even enjoy writing!

About lilyluna93

I am from Hertfordshire, England. I enjoy reading, writing, singing and acting and aspire to have my book published in the near future. Have a look at my blogs, you'll find some of my writing and my journeys. Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Novel writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gap Year Girl

  1. Pete Denton says:

    Welcome to the blogasphere. Enjoy your writing and blogging 🙂

Leave a Reply

